Seasoned Buttery Croutons

First off, today marks the start of my birthday month. Yes, I was born in good ol’ mid-February, and on that day the world became a better, and more delicious place (I think). So I thought, what better way to start off the month than to post a recipe close to my heart?:) It is said that the first time I was presented with the delicacy known as toasted bread with butter, my soul leaped for joy and embraced it’s new true love (I have a wild imagination). Calling all bread and toast lovers! This is the recipe for you! I absolutely love homemade croutons, I believe that I inherited this addiction from Queenbee, who also loves croutons. Basically, to make a crouton, you need bread and butter. But to make a superior crouton, you need, bread, butter, and a special spice blend. Which I am about to disclose to you. I give you the crouton of goodness….the amazing crouton…..the food of life.

Cooking Tip: Be careful to not over-salt croutons, 1/2 to 3/4 tsp. should be perfect. 

The Ingredients: 3 1/2 to 4 slices whole grain bread, 4 tbsp. butter, 2 tbsp. olive oil (optional) 1 tsp. garlic, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. Italian seasoning, 1/2 tsp. black pepper.

Tear the bread into bite-size pieces and place it onto a long, flat pan. Melt the butter and pour it evenly over the bread bits. Sprinkle on the spices and use your hands to toss the croutons until they are evenly coated. Drizzle olive oil evenly atop the croutons right before you cook them. Preheat your oven to Broil, add the croutons and cook them for 10-15 minutes or so, stay with them to make sure that they don’t burn. Croutons burn very easily. Cook them until they just become crispy. Other than that, enjoy them!;)

Warning: You may or may not be able to control yourself around these little beauties.

I decided to not tempt you further with the high quality pictures that we are known for here on PrettyasaFlower blog. You’ll just have to see what they look like when you make them! I promise that you won’t be disappointed.;)

Leave a Reply

